Just gimme a donut with sprinkles on it – I don’t care what you call it!

18 05 2010

Late night jaunt to Dunkin Donuts – let me set this up for you here.

It was 2:30 in the morning.  My daughter was in the hospital.  And she wanted a glazed or frosted donut – something with sprinkles.  And no chocolate.

So I pull into the Dunkin Donuts across from the hospital.  I normally avoid DD due to prior incidents, but my baby girl wanted a donut.  And it was 2:30 in the morning.  

So I went through the drive thru as the store itself was closed.  The employee asks what I would like.  I asked what they had (at that hour, who knows?).  Anything on the menu.  That’s what he told me.  So I ordered a pink frosted donut with sprinkles.  This is the next three minutes of conversation:

Him:  We don’t have those right now.

Me:  But it’s #1 on the menu.

Him: Okay, so not everything on the menu.

Me:  What do you have with sprinkles?

Him:  We don’t have any donuts with sprinkles.

Me:  Okay, umm, do you have kruellers?

Him: No.

Me:  Well what do you have?

Him: (exasperated sigh) Hold on.

<Queue intermission music for effect>

Him:  Bavarian Creme donuts, Apple fritters, Glazed donuts, Eclairs, Jam filled donuts, Cake sticks, Vanilla frosted donuts, Vanilla frosted donuts with sprinkles, Chocolate frosted donuts, Chocolate frosted donuts with sprinkles, Strawberry frosted donuts, Strawberry frosted donuts with sprinkles, Boston Creme donuts, Chocolate glazed donuts, French kruellers, and Munchkins.

Me:  I’d like the pink frosted donut with sprinkles that I asked for already.

Him:  We don’t have that.  We have a strawberry frosted donut with sprinkles.

Me:  It’s pink, with sprinkles, I want that.

<insert multiple forms of sign language hurled in the direction of the shop as I drove away>

Did I mention I don’t like Dunkin Donuts?  One of these days I am going to pull a Michael Douglas move!


Actions

Information

3 responses

20 06 2010
Qibb

Theres a reason he’s working the third shift at a fast food joint.

15 07 2010
protogere

That’s what I told myself too!

17 11 2010
Ardath Strassell

i definitely agree

Leave a comment