Personnel Training Techniques

6 08 2010

I have utilized the virtual classroom setting through WebEx and while it was very efficient and easy to use, the downside I found was that it didn’t enable me to have the individuals I was training demonstrate that they had learned the skills I was teaching.  I also have utilized a DVD-based training method for safety courses I taught, but again, it didn’t allow me to truly test the skills in action, I could only host a discussion and offer a quiz for competency of what was covered in the presentation.

My personal favorite and most efficient training technique is closest to the simulated learning method discussed in the textbook.  As an example, when I came to work at a previous employer I found that almost all of the I-9s were improperly completed.  I devised a training course for the management staff that on boarded new hires, complete with falsified and authentic forms of identification.  We took turn role playing new hires and presenting sets of documents to our new supervisors and learning what documents were legal and which were not.  I enlisted the help of two senior management staff members to ask the supervisors to complete their I-9s for them as they didn’t understand them and through the process, each individual was given assessed for their existing methods.  After the role play session, I showed a slideshow that demonstrated how to legally complete the form and we discussed what mistakes had been made along the way.  We finished the training session with another round of role playing, with much better results and the managers came away understanding what their signing of the document was saying and they comprehended better the legal impact of the document and its validity.

I can honestly say that I would reuse this method in other training manners if I ever again am a trainer.  It works wonderfully to allow people an opportunity to act out their behavior without fear of consequences and permits me as a trainer to identify specific areas of weakness and correct them through reiteration and training.  By giving the subjects material they could handle and work with, they could associate it with what they would actually experience rather than having to try to apply something they only saw on a screen and are trying to recall later.

Works Cited

Olver, Ph.D., James M., Theresa K. Lant, Ph.D., Robert Plant, Ph.D., Karl D. Majeske, Ph.D., and Steven R. Kursh, Ph.D., CSDP, eds. Essentials of Human Resources. Pearson Custom, 2009. Print.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

