The Latin speeches ended, the English thus began…

26 07 2010

Twice in my work history I have experienced having my job sent overseas, both times to employees who would do my job for half my pay and be willing to work longer hours for that lesser paycheck. It wasn’t that I asked too much, it was just a cost cutting method. As my one supervisor put it, it wasn’t personal; it was a financially advantageous decision.

And it was, I have no argument there. The new me has no healthcare or company profit sharing benefits that are paid in any way by the US company, no holiday pay or sick day pay paid by the US company, and instead of paying the new me about $750 a week before taxes, they can pay the new me less than £300 a week, less than $500 a week in US dollars.

For those businesses that like the way their coffers look when lined in platinum and gold, it is indeed a financially advantageous decision to ship my job to an employee in India. And it’s time that our government put an end to such practises.

There is much adieu about the passing of the unemployment benefit extension, about the senseless paying of government funds to the long-term unemployed, such as myself.   I will be the first to say I would love nothing more than to be sound asleep right now, excited for my week ahead, sitting at a desk and working diligently on something my supervisor has tossed my way instead of sitting here at near on midnight and knowing about all that lies ahead of me this week is another set of five days of want ad searching and unsolicited resume deliveries and cold calls to well worn lists of area businesses. However, the idea of punishing further individuals, again such as myself, by taking away the only source of income we have after working diligently for many years is not a suitable answer.

Yet, the idea of the government pressing on the businesses that have taken jobs from hard working Americans and shipped them overseas in order to bolster their financial statements is a suitable answer. It’s not being tossed about in any political arenas that I know of, and I am not certain why.

There is the obvious conspiracy response – that the political persons holding the gavel also hold stocks in these profitable businesses. I hope that it is merely a tin foil hat response though.

Why wouldn’t we seek to tax equivocally to the difference in wages? Our government could make quite a steal by issuing a tax of $100 – $300 a week per position filled by an outsourced contracted employee in a third world nation. And I’m almost certain we’d quickly see positions being brought back to our own country.

It isn’t as though these individuals hold a skill unattainable from US workers. It isn’t as though some gentleman in Nepal is better than a young lady in Florida at doing a clerical job. It isn’t as though the man in Taiwan presses metal better than the middle aged man in Michigan. It simply boils down to the fact that the employee in that foreign land can do an equal job for almost half the pay with no strings attached, no benefits, no employer matching of investments, and no pay for days off.

Bring the work back to American workers, stop permitting outsourcing of labour and help these long-term unemployed regain our self-worth, dignity and most importantly, our jobs.

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 07 2010
eveningstarjilly

Thanks for visiting. I’m so sorry this happened to you and expect to be joining you and my co-workers at the unemployment office very soon myself. I love the idea of having a new tax for every outsourced position–it would bring in billions!
Kate

26 07 2010
Marcille Wallis

I accidentally left Fox on a couple of weeks ago — before I could get to the remote I heard a panel of their poufed and lip-glossed pundits stating that the biggest obstacle to gainful employment is unemployment benefits … that if those benefits were cut off, people would be forced to go out and get jobs. And I wondered what in the world you’d have to say on that point!

There are tax loopholes that effectively subsidize companies who move American jobs overseas. So just closing these loopholes might be a step in the right direction … but Congressional Republicans oppose that notion. In the current climate, there’s no way they’re going to approve a new tax such as the one you propose, because that would send the Tea-Partiers on a new hissy fit.

I sometimes ponder how absurd it is that the same folks who wave flags and pontificate about patriotism, who bemoan illegal aliens that take jobs away from honest, hard-working Americans … are the same folks who profess not to be concerned about the outsourcing of jobs! Guess you can just chalk it up to partisanship — “If he’s fer it, then I’m agin’ it!”

And the people suffer …

2 08 2010
protogere

LoL Marcille. Over the summer months I teach the girls and we’ve been very focused on history, primarily US history and have been learning a lot about the congress vs. presidency and republican vs. democrat battles that have plagued making any real advancements in so many areas of our nation’s needs.
It really does amaze me to hear people who are obviously still employed state that taking away the benefits we have earned through our working history away because we, the unemployed, would prefer to milk those benefits rather than feel like we make a worthwhile contribution to our homes and to society at large. I hear it all the time from people, who again are obviously employed, who say there are jobs everywhere if we, the unemployed, would only look. I don’t honestly know where else to look – I’ve run out of ideas and am open to suggestions.

17 08 2010
22 inch

Right on

26 09 2010
johnnypoquiz

Greetings from Iowa!

Leave a Reply

