If I were a rich girl…

22 03 2010

Miley Cyrus is the last person I think of when I am trying to create a list of mentor worthy singers.  She doesn’t even come to mind when I list out mediocre singers.  She’s in that little category made for just her called “My daddy is rich from his one hit wonder song so look at me”.  In all fairness to the girl, I did like her.  I thought she had ish talent, but mostly she had a good kid attitude and served as an acceptable role model for my daughter.  That was until last August’s pole-dancing performance.  After that, she was fairly much written off in our household, not just by me, but thankfully by my daughters as well.  It’s rather nice when they agree and encourage my decisions for their well being.

That being said, imagine my surprise to learn that Miley is the mentor for American Idol this coming week.  She isn’t talented at singing, and that’s to be fair.  She would have been the epitome of who should receive the advise Ellen gave Todrick Hall in regards to being a cute actor who just happens to be able to sing a little.  I gather that they had a plan for Teen Idol in mind when they invited the likes of Joe Jonas and Demi Lovato and Miley Cyrus to the show – but I strongly believe that they could have found any number of talents willing to fill the shoes of mentoring these wannabes that has a greater vocal talent and understanding of the music industry than Miley.

And what does this say for the previous and possible future mentor’s esteemed rank when they are in the same category as she?  Sir Andrew Llyod Webber, Sir Elton John, Kenny Rogers, Randy Travis, Mariah Carey, Dolly Parton, Gwen Stefani, Smokey Robinson, Neil Diamond, David Foster, Reba McEntire – I could go on and on but the point is that in the past mentors have been people with musical credibility and industry knowledge and most importantly – respect.

It’ll be interesting to see the reaction of some of the more talented contestants in being guided by the former teen sensation known as Hannah Montana.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

