Part one of the first day

22 01 2010

I promised myself to stay honest here in the blog about this non-smoking process, so I am.  I write that as a warning that a couple things in this particular piece are rather detailed and hey at least there are no pictures.

This morning was fine, completely, and I wasn’t sure that it would be.  I had my e-cigarette to get me through until about noon, but I was out at the college and running around in town when it died and like a dingbat I hadn’t planned ahead with a spare charged.  So I faltered and bought a pack of smokes.  I smoked three between noon and about two when I was back home.  I probably should throw the rest away, but instead I packed them in my console in my car.

The not so pleasant portion to read is next.  I am beginning to produce phlegm.  I can’t find anything official online to note if this is normal when quitting smoking, but I have no cold or cough even, so I have to assume it is related to the quitting smoking.  It’s about once or twice an hour I feel like I have a gum ball sized amount at the back of my throat so I have taken to coughing it out into a napkin.  I did find some forums where people spoke about coughing phlegm while smoking and that it is your lungs trying to clean themselves.  So I can also wonder if the phlegm is due to the fact I had the three cigarettes after not having any since last night’s final, about fourteen hours without.

I am also concerned about how many puffs in one cartridge.  They are supposed to provide 200 – 300 puffs, but I have to drag about 3 times per inhale instead of once and I am on my second cartridge and I know I would have never made it through one regular pack in that short of time.  So I am thinking that the amount of puffs from one cartridge may not be as much as they described or my second and third puffs are really adding up fast.

Actions

Information

One response

23 01 2010
hungover

Good points!

Leave a Reply

