B.E.R.

15 10 2009

Yesterday afternoon I had a job, one I disliked, one where I was never going to go anywhere despite only just starting, but it was a paycheck.  I had a paycheck and self-esteem.  Two things that I had been without for quite a few months.  Today I lost both.

I think what pains me more at the moment over all of it is really the cruelty in their words.  Yes, I walk funny.  I didn’t ask to walk funny.  Shit happens.  Specifically bilateral para vertebral rigidity due to an irreversible bilateral sacroiliac injury happened.  Knowing that I walk funny, knowing I had an injury, knowing I walk with a cane – for some reason the owner asked me to climb a 20 foot ladder and pull 50 lb. parts to do inventory.  I told her I physically couldn’t.  I told her anything at 6 feet and under I can do and it isn’t as though that didn’t keep 2500 square feet of the warehouse floor flagged as possible.  Instead I was taken into their office and let go.  Their excuse, their reason, their rationale, their words – because I am disabled.  I felt like some piece of broken equipment stamped as Beyond Economical Repair and shoved into the trash bin behind the warehouse.

The laws in my state don’t support the employee.  If you have less than 90 days on the job, the employer can go so far as to tell you that they are terminating you due to a physical disability.  Even if the job you applied for, the job you interviewed for, the job you were hired isn’t impeded by your disability.

I can’t even think to get my thoughts out.  Just very hurt.

Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2009
Savannah

Awesome blog!

I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
LOL,

Leave a Reply

