20+20+2+2=125 ?

29 09 2009

My father was the type of man who could sell an Eskimo snow.  And he was good at it.  He is probably the only person I have ever known who was successful at selling insurance.  He was personable, likable.  He could strike up a conversation with a total stranger and have them whipping out their checkbook within minutes.  I’m not like that.  At all.

I’ve worked in sales environments most all of my adult life.  Face it, that’s how company’s make money…by selling things.  But there is a difference between working in sales and working for a business that sells.  I took a job working for commission selling bridal gowns once.  It didn’t last long or work out well.  I remember one robust lady asked me if the gown made her butt look big and my response was no, but the Twinkies did.  After that I was moved to before and after hours sales.  Which was the term used for helping gentlemen of alternative lifestyles try on evening gowns.  As I said, the job didn’t last long or work out well.  And when I’ve worked with sales, as in side by side with sales people, all I’ve learned is that you can’t trust them.  Ever.

Even my father, the salesman, told me that.  I bought my second new car from a salesman who was a friend of the family, a man who had known me since I was knee high to a barstool.  He had my father’s blessing to use his credit information to co-sign any loan I needed.  And I was trading in a Chevy Cavalier that had proven too small for our growing family.  I wanted a Plymouth Voyager.  But this friend of the family told me that you couldn’t trade in a Chevy on a Pontiac, only Chevrolet for Chevrolet.  And at 20, it made since to me.  When my dad found out he told me never ever trust a salesman.  Even ones who have known you since you were seven.

So here I sit, working in sales yet again.  As in side by side.  With the liars and thieves I really despise.  I don’t know if it is because they lie and cheat or because they are oblivious to their compulsive lying and cheating that makes me despise them so.  I think part of my disdain is in the fact that they expect those around them to perpetuate their bullshit as well.

For example, there are 5 people in our company.  Five.  One, me, has worked here precisely 7 days with no prior field experience.  Another two have worked here two years this Thursday and both came with no prior field experience.  The other two have owned the company five years and the oldest of the two is 38, I have no idea of their prior experience.  But I can do basic math.  At best, they have been employed in some fashion for 20 years each.  So let’s presume of those 20 years that all 20 were spent in the industry.  So that totals, 40 years field experience plus 2 for each of the other two and 7 days for myself…grand total is 44 years and 7 days.  Give or take a day.  But I was explicitly told today to tell customers that we have a total of over 125 years industry experience.  I questioned it and was told that the owners began flying on planes, our industry, at the ripe age of 3 and we have investors who are older who have been flying even longer.  How do you argue with that logic?

Actions

Information

One response

1 10 2009
Tnelson

There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

Leave a Reply

