A dish best served cold

9 07 2007

An artifact zerg-style raid, hitting up the likes of Bruiser, Golden Spear, Shield of Khaos, Guard of Valour and about fifteen others. This would have and did summon masses over one hundred strong not even six months ago. I remember one raid was over 175 and another was greater than 150 strong and my smallest was still 125 plus strong.

Until last night.

I don’t think the BG saw over 25 people the whole of the night. One count early on said 21 and later into it was 16. And yet we succeeded at all but two which were random chances for mobs to spawn, and Foppish as the head dissipated before it could be used as the bearer was thrown and died. I don’t know which amazed me more the lack of interest and attendance; or the simplification of what was.

Yes, yes, I know I said no more whining in my entries. But I am not, not really; though in denying I am only strengthening the argument that I am.

I need coffee; it is too early for me to expect me to think and write cohesively.

I was researching Nero two nights ago. A very unique leader, his mother garnished him the position of emperor of Rome and the entire modern world belonged to Rome, so he was essentially the ‘king of the world’. So he had her killed for being so powerful and controlling. A nice fuck you very much.

In addition to his mother, he had two wives killed, one brother-in-law, and had a male lover of his castrated after a squabble; which rather rendered him a useless male lover after that, I would think.

And though he was the leader of the world he lived in and could have at any time had most anything he desired summoned to his feet, he would venture out at night to mug women and burglarize buildings. He set fire to his capital city, destroying a great lot of it.

And in the end, he committed suicide so that no one could murder him, supposedly saying on his final breath ‘what an artist the world is losing’.

The whole while this occurred, one of his flick of the wrist commands was to provide a Celtic tribal ‘king’ with rights as a provincial township and then command the rape of his pre-teenage daughters and flogging of his widow after the ‘king’s’ death.

While this widow was out murdering and waging war on Nero’s troops, grossly defiling the cities and people that she and her army encountered, he was back home playing his lyre and performing on stages, torturing anyone who thought that he was not the most talented performer.

The widow at one point strung up a Roman patrician’s wife, set her on a spit, lengthwise through the body, though still very much alive; cut off the lady’s breasts and had them sewn by the nipple into her lips and left to die.

It is an interesting contrast, these two leaders.

Both were given control of their lands by another; Boudica by the death of her husband and Nero by the acts of his later deceased mother.

Boudica set Londonium ablaze out of revenge and as an act of war; Nero set fire to Rome out of boredom and the pleasure it gave him.

Boudica tortured a woman, who she knew not at all and who was merely a victim of war, in a most grievous fashion, with detail and patience. Nero had woman after wife after wife executed in a single blow with no attention to the matter at all, even though he had with them shared a bed and a life.

It is rather irrelevant I suppose to the reader, I just found it interesting how two people went about revenge so differently. I think it shows the depth of the pain that caused the revenge.

Nero is scorned publicly after showing off his talents and in turn has others do his torturing in return for him. And after a spat with a lover, he hastily demanded that the man be castrated, but did not himself take part in the act.

I try to picture myself being so devastated and hurt that I could take the time to cut off a woman’s breast and sew it into her mouth, all the while she is writhing on a pike, yet still alive. I cannot, but to take the time to think such an act through, one would have to be rather pissed off.

Eh, maybe I had not enough coffee, I am still rambling on about nothing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

