Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn!

15 06 2007
It’s so hot today you could probably fry an egg on the grass, screw the sidewalk.And my anger level isn’t much better. Not really anger, but sheer hurt and frustration. Supposedly, if I log in to the game, it will all dissipate; much like everything in my guild houses did two days ago.

Our guild has ten houses in a circle and each and every one of them was stripped to bare bones inside, excepting loot bags that couldn’t be picked up in one and the trophy house which would mysteriously crash anyone to desktop upon entry. I logged appeals on each and every damn one and a game stoppage appeal on the trophy house and then I logged.

I have yet to get back on. I don’t honestly know that I want to. If it weren’t for the ML Series continuing this weekend, I wouldn’t. I would simply let it all rot due to my already tepid level of frustration with Mythic.

Oh pardon moi, EA. Though to be honest, EA Games’ website doesn’t even make the slightest mention of DAOC. Oh but Warhammer, oh praise be to the game of the century.

Mythic employees who have been with the game since the dawning of it and even more recent faces are dropping like flies. Every week it is some new nobody posting on the Herald.

Nothing changing but the business cards my right ass cheek!

And while Mythic has EA emblazoned on every damn thing there is, EA could easily be accused of pretending Mythic/DAOC doesn’t exist. But there they are, delaying my log in by five seconds more with their idiotic flash screen each time.

I think what really has me so inflamed is the fact the only people who care about DAOC any longer are the players.

Within three months many of them will be on to BETA for WH and within six months (assuming release date isn’t once more pushed back) they will be there. And there will remain some small handful of players on DAOC, all clustered together on one server, battling to the death over a scrap of cheese.

I don’t want to witness that. Not actively, by any means. I don’t want to be here when the world is tilted off its axis and shaken about and left for rubble. I want to remember it as it was.

“Here in this pretty world gallantry took its last bow. . . . Here was the last ever to be seen of Knights and their Ladies Fair, of Master and of Slave. . . . Look for it only in books, for it is no more than a dream remembered. A Civilization gone with the wind…I want peace. I want to see if somewhere there isn’t something left in life of charm and grace”

I read that and I know that Margaret must have witnessed a world of bliss and naivety and community and with her eyes watched it banished from existence.

Now the contrast isn’t exactly the same, no, but it is. And it pisses me off so much that it has been robbed of people, like myself, who took pleasure in the simplicity of it all.

Yes, yes, go outside. Get a life. I know. I shouldn’t be this bothered over pixels and fairy dust, but I truly am because…

Why?

I started this game before leaving my ex and played it through my separation and my independence and through deaths of family members and long lonely nights with no one but my children in my life. And this game, the people in it, they became my family and my best friends and well I met my fiancé as well. And damn it, I watch them leave out of dissatisfaction and I tell myself they will return and they did. But now they leave again and I sit here wondering why in the hell I am here?

Why am I still clinging to memories of something that is being dashed to bits?

I have given it my all and then some to try to improve it and make it worth staying and yet it doesn’t take a village. Not here. It takes the people in the big cushy chairs at their big slate desks with wide screen monitors to give a damn. And they just don’t.

And that is what has me so infuriated.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

